Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Dirty Tackle

Mexico striker Jesus Escoboza scores in U-20 World Cup while wearing only one boot

The USA and England may have finished rock bottom of their respective U-20 World Cup groups, but Mexico will progress to the knockout stage of the Istanbul tournament thanks to a 4-1 demolition of Mali last Friday.

The third goal was scored by Santos Laguna striker Jesus Escoboza, who connected with a flicked header from teammate Marco Bueno to confidently slot home with his left foot. Escoboza may have considered finishing with his right foot, had his right boot not come off while making the run towards goal.

Some have suggested the goal is actually illegal, as the rules state that play must be stopped if any players' footwwear comes off — this regulation made a controversial appearance in Manchester Utd's Europa League exit to Athletic Bilbao in 2011-12, when the Spaniards scored shortly after a free kick was awarded for Patrice Evra's boot coming off. However, the guidelines also state:

"If a player loses his footwear accidentally, and immediately plays the ball and/or scores a goal, there is no infringement and the goal is awarded because he lost his footwear by accident."

Therefore, the goal was perfectly legitimate, much like Alessandro Matri's shoe-less strike against Fiorentina last season...

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $700K Baller 4516/79545 $10 $700000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $25K Tournament [Single Entry] 1168/5681 $5 $25000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $5 Better Half [Single Entry, Top 50% Win] 377/10000 $5 $45000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
View Comments (4)