Dirty Tackle

Jamaica’s Alvas Powell shows what happens when you try to abort a throw-in after it’s too late

Brooks Peck
Dirty Tackle

Mexico finally notched a win in the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, beating Jamaica 1-0 after three straight draws. It wasn't a particularly inspiring performance from either side, but one area in particular that Jamaica will want to work on before hosting the USA on Friday is throw-ins.

At a few points during the match against Mexico, Jamaica had inexplicable trouble with their throw-ins — the worst of which came just before halftime when 18-year-old defender Alvas Powell had second thoughts mid-throw. The ball slipped out of his hands and his attempt to catch it failed, so the ball dribbled onto the pitch in a sad sort of way.

The referee ruled Powell's miscue an illegal throw-in and gave Mexico a crack at it, which went much better.

View Comments