Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Dirty Tackle

DTotD: Spanish referee learns the perils of running backwards

Brooks Peck
Dirty Tackle

The first leg of the Copa del Rey round of 16 tie between Valencia and cup holders Atletico Madrid ended in a 1-1 draw thanks to an injury-time equalizer from Valencia's Helder Postiga. But the night's most important life lesson came in the form of a mistake by the referee.

With the score still 0-0 in the first half, Atletico's Josuha Guilavogui knelt down to tie his shoe. What he couldn't see was that behind him, the referee was having a conversation while jogging backwards and headed right for him. And just as the ref gave a thumbs up, he tumbled over Guilavogui.

Always watch where you're going...and never give a thumbs up while running backwards. You're tempting fate and fate has a sense of humor.

This has been the Dirty Tackle of the Day: a chronicling of unfortunate events.

Video via 101gg

- - - - - - -

Brooks Peck is the editor of Dirty Tackle on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him or follow on Twitter!

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (2)