Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Fourth-Place Medal

Ladies short program: Yuna Kim, Julia Lipnitskaia face off

Fourth-Place Medal
Yuna Kim of South Korea reacts after completing her routine in the women's short program figure skating competition at the Iceberg Skating Palace during the 2014 Winter Olympics, Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014, in Sochi, Russia
.

View gallery

Yuna Kim of South Korea reacts after completing her routine in the women's short program figure skating competition at the Iceberg Skating Palace during the 2014 Winter Olympics, Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014, in Sochi, Russia. (AP Photo/Bernat Armangue)

Reigning Olympic champion Yuna Kim makes her Sochi debut in the ladies short program.

The South Korea sensation hopes to become the first woman since Katarina Witt to defend her title, but will be challenged by two talented teens: Julia Lipnitskaia and Gracie Gold.

[Photos: Yuna Kim, Julia Lipnitskaia, Gracie Gold and more]

Lipnitskaia helped lead Russia to team gold last week, and has shown maturity that far exceeds her 15 years. Team USA will be led by 19-year-old Gracie Gold, who skated flawlessly in the team event. Her teammates Polina Edmunds and Ashley Wagner look to be in the medal mix as well.

Others to watch include Japan's Mao Asada and Italy's Carolina Kostner. The ladies short program begins at 10am ET/7am PT. You can watch the live stream here and join Yahoo Sports' Lawrence Yee below as he provides play-by-play analysis.

Here's when some of the contenders will skate (the complete skate order can be found here):

11:28am ET/8:28am PT -- Polina Edmunds (USA)
12:24pm ET/9:24am PT -- Yuna Kim (KOR)
1:05pm ET/10:05am PT -- Gracie Gold (USA)
1:47pm ET/10:47am PT --  Julia Lipnitskaia (RUS)
2:00pm ET/11:00am  PT -- Ashley Wagner (USA)
2:20pm ET/11:20am PT -- Mao Asada (JPN)

More Olympics content from Yahoo Sports:

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (80)