Breaking News:
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Hockey

How Patrice Bergeron won the 2014 Selke Trophy

Sean Leahy
Puck Daddy
Photo by Brian Babineau/NHLI via Getty Images

View photo

Photo by Brian Babineau/NHLI via Getty Images

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins won his second Frank J. Selke Trophy in three seasons Tuesday night at the 2014 NHL Awards. The award is given "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game," as voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks and Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings were up for the award. 

From the NHL:

Bergeron led the NHL in face-off wins with 1,015 -- the most by any player in the past seven seasons -- as the Bruins posted the best defensive record in the Eastern Conference and second-best in the League overall (2.08 goals per game). He ranked second in the NHL in plus-minus with a career-high +38 rating and led all Bruins forwards in average ice time playing shorthanded (1:57)

You could make a strong argument any of the three were deserving of the award, but judging how the writer's voted, they felt Bergeron was the clear winner, and if you look at his numbers, they were right.

Here's how the voting broke down for the top 20 finishers:

View photo



Pretty big drop off after David Backes in fourth place.

- - - - - - -

Sean Leahy is the associate editor for Puck Daddy on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NHL $4K Tournament [$400 to 1st] 231/909 $5 $4000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
NHL $1K Tournament [$100 to 1st] 466/1136 $1 $1000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
NHL $2 Double Up [Win $4] 142/568 $2 $1000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (33)