Yahoo Fantasy Football in Las Vegas:
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football

Michael Strahan among 17 former NFL players up for Hall of Fame vote on Saturday

Shutdown Corner

NEW YORK – Michael Strahan, here is the good news: Warren Sapp does not have a Pro Football Hall of Fame vote.

Sapp recently expressed that Strahan should not join him in the Hall of Fame. Both men have been enemies for years, and Sapp’s comments are not surprising. Nevertheless, Sapp’s opinions will not impact the 46-member selection committee that will decide this year’s inductees on Saturday.

Strahan is one of 15 modern-era finalists, along with the two senior nominees (former Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders punter Ray Guy, and Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey) who will be considered for induction when the committee meets in New York on Saturday. The meeting is annually held one day before the Super Bowl.

View photo


(USA TODAY Sports)

A player must receive at least 80 percent of the vote to be inducted. Senior candidates and modern-era nominees are voted upon separately. A maximum of five modern-era finalists are voted into the Hall of Fame each year.

Overall, a maximum of seven players (including senior candidates) can enter the Hall of Fame each year.

The committee was originally presented with 126 nominees that were reduced to 25 semifinalists during the year-long process. The 15 modern-era finalists were announced early in January.

Here are the 17 finalists who will be debated on Saturday. Post your picks in the comments section and see how many other NFL fans agree with you:

Morten Andersen, kicker – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints; 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons; 2001 New York Giants; 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs; 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Jerome Bettis, running back – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams; 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Derrick Brooks, linebacker – 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tim Brown, wide receiver/kick returner/punt returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/ Oakland Raiders; 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Tony Dungy, coach – 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers; 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Kevin Greene, linebacker/defensive end – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams; 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers; 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers; 1997 San Francisco 49ers

* Ray Guy, punter – 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers; 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Marvin Harrison, wide receiver – 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

* Claude Humphrey, defensive end – 1968-1978 Atlanta Falcons; 1979-1981 Philadelphia Eagles

Walter Jones, tackle – 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, free safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers; 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Andre Reed, wide receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills; 2000 Washington Redskins

Will Shields, guard – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, defensive end – 1993-2007 New York Giants

Aeneas Williams, cornerback/safety – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals; 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

* - senior committee nominee

Want to watch the Big Game ads? Check them out here:

- - - - - - -

Anwar S Richardson is a writer for Shutdown Corner on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (117)