What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Report: Big Ten’s Legends and Leaders division names are on their way out

View photo


(USA Today Sports Images)

Like many fads, the Big Ten Legends and Leaders division names didn’t last long. What was initially an innovative way to delineate two sides of the conference turned out to be the Pepsi Clear of college football.

So the Big Ten is going the conventional route and changing its division names to the standard geographical classification of East and West in 2014 when Maryland and Rutgers join the conference.

According to ESPN.com, the Big Ten West includes the six teams located in the Central time zone — Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Wisconsin — plus Purdue.

The Big Ten East would include Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

The Big Ten presidents and chancellors are expected to vote on the name changes and new divisions next week as well as a nine-game conference schedule beginning in 2016.

- - -

Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday and be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

NFL video from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on Yahoo! Sports:
Boston bombing suspect Tamerlan Tsarnaev had boxing aspirations | Photos
Images from the manhunt, capture of Boston bombing suspect
Ball Don't Lie Power Rankings: First-round NBA playoff matchups
NFL bets big on RG3's recovery

Daily Fantasy
View Comments (147)