Score Strip

  1. League: NCAAF
  2. Texas A&M vs. South Carolina
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (18) TAMU
    (4) S CAR
  3. Temple vs. Vanderbilt
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    TEMP
    (24) VAND
  4. Weber St. vs. Arizona St.
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    WEBR
    (20) AZ ST
  5. UCF vs. Penn St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 7:00 AM
    (10) UCF
    PSU
  6. Elon vs. Duke
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    ELON
    (23) DUKE
  7. UCLA vs. Virginia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (16) UCLA
    UVA
  8. Alabama vs. West Virginia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (7) ALA
    W VA
  9. Jacksonville St. vs. Michigan St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    JV ST
    (3) MI ST
  10. Clemson vs. Georgia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (8) CLEM
    GA
  11. Ohio St. vs. Navy
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (12) OH ST
    NAVY
  12. S. Dakota St. vs. Missouri
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    SDK ST
    (5) MIZZ
  13. Louisiana Tech vs. Oklahoma
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    LT
    (6) OKLA
  14. Florida St. vs. Oklahoma St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (1) FL ST
    (17) OK ST
  15. Arkansas vs. Auburn
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    ARK
    (2) AUB
  16. Wisconsin vs. LSU
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (22) WIS
    (14) LSU
  17. South Dakota vs. Oregon
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    S DAK
    (9) ORE
  18. Fresno St. vs. USC
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    FRES
    (19) USC
  19. UC Davis vs. Stanford
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    UCD
    (11) STAN
  20. Rice vs. Notre Dame
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:30 PM
    RICE
    (21) ND
  21. Washington vs. Hawaii
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 8:00 PM
    (25) WASH
    HAW
  22. SMU vs. Baylor
    Aug 31ˢᵗ 1:00 PM
    SMU
    (13) BAYL
  23. Miami (FL) vs. Louisville
    Sep 1ˢᵗ 8:00 PM
    MIA F
    (15) LOU
  24. View All

Dr. Saturday

MAC apologizes for blown call that led to Buffalo safety against Ohio

Nick Bromberg
Dr. Saturday

View gallery

.

(Getty Images)

The Mid-American Conference has formally apologized for an inxplicable call that was made against Ohio at Buffalo on Tuesday night.

Ohio quarterback Tyler Tettleton had retreated to his own four-yard line when he was penalized for intentional grounding. However, the officials ruled that he was somehow in the end zone and Buffalo was given two points for a safety.

View gallery

.

"In review, the proper call was intentional grounding, however, Ohio's Tettleton threw the pass in the field of play and not from the end zone," MAC Coordinator of Officials Bill Carollo said in a statement. "This play should not have resulted in a safety. The next play should have been fourth down at the spot of the incomplete pass. This was an officiating error with regard to judgment and the officiating mechanics by the covering officials."

The call was not reviewable by replay rule. According to the AP, official Tom McCabe, the referee at the two-yard line when Tettleton threw the ball, admitted that he might have made a mistake after the game and that he was looking downfield instead of at Tettleton, who ended up in the end zone after he had thrown the football.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at nickbromberg@yahoo.com or follow him on Twitter!

View Comments