Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Dr. Saturday

Johnny Manziel, AJ McCarron and Jameis Winston finalists for Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards

Nick Bromberg
Dr. Saturday

View photo


Johnny Manziel, AJ McCarron and Jameis Winston

The Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the best quarterback in the country, and the Maxwell Award for best overall player will each be awarded amongst Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, Alabama's AJ McCarron or Florida State's Jameis Winston.

The finalists, along with the finalists for the other college football awards that are presented on the College Football Awards show on ESPN December 12, were announced on Monday.

Manziel is coming off of his worst game of the season against LSU, where he was 16-41 for 224 yards and a touchdown and two interceptions. On the season, he's 246-356 for 3,537 yards passing and 32 touchdowns and 13 interceptions. McCarron is 290-277 for 2,399 yards and 23 touchdowns and five interceptions.

Winston is the favorite, but the questions surrounding him off-the field may negate that status somewhat. He's 199-286 for 3,163 yards and 32 touchdowns and seven interceptions.

The three are also considered favorites for the Heisman Trophy, which is awarded on December 14.

Here are the finalists for the other awards that will be given out on December 12 on ESPN:

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player): UCLA LB Anthony Barr, Pitt DL Aaron Donald, Alabama LB CJ Mosley

Biletnikoff Award (Receiver): Oregon State WR Brandin Cooks, Texas A&M WR Mike Evans, Clemson WR Sammy Watkins

Lou Groza Award (Placekicker): Florida State K Roberto Aguayo, Texas K Anthony Fera, South Florida K Marvin Kloss

Ray Guy Award (Punter): Memphis P Tom Hornsey, Texas A&M P Drew Kaser, Purdue P Cody Webster

Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman): Donald, Baylor OL Cyril Richardson, Texas A&M OL Jake Matthews

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back): Michigan State CB Darqueze Dennard, Oklahoma State CB Justin Gilbert, Florida State CB Lamarcus Joyner

Doak Walker Award (Running Back): Arizona RB Ka'Deem Carey, Washington RB Bishop Sankey, Boston College RB Andre Williams

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
EPL $20K Nobody Loses 1115/10000 $1 $20000 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
NBA $10K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 443/2272 $5 $10000 Today 8:00 PM Enter
NBA $7K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 52/319 $25 $7000 Today 8:00 PM Enter
View Comments (9)