Drew leads with his arms and shoulders and he hits Carta-Samuels in the chest. There may not be any contact to the helmet at all. That's not targeting, which is defined as leading with the helmet (or shoulder) to the opponent's helmet.
Usually, when a foul for targeting is not deemed to be targeting, the 15-yard penalty is applied and the automatic ejection that goes along with the penalty is removed. However, the entire penalty was upheld, and so was Drew's ejection.
Hopefully this becomes example No. 1 in the offseason on how the targeting rule needs to be changed.
- - - - - - -
- Ray Drew