You make the call: Did Brandon Carter signal for a fair catch? (Video)

Nick Bromberg

Brandon Carter had already had a punt return called back for a clipping penalty Thursday night against Texas Tech. He soon had another one nullified.

Early in the fourth quarter, with TCU trailing 10-3, Carter took this punt to the house and put TCU within a point of tying the game. Or not.

There wasn't a flag on the field, but the Big 12 officials conferred and judged that Carter had called for a fair catch when he was running to field the punt.

Did he? At different points, each arm went towards the air, and Carter's left arm looks like it might have made a fair catch signal. But it might not have, either. That's what confused the officials (which had a tough night on the plains of West Texas) and led to the delayed call. TCU ended up losing the game 20-10.

So what say you? Was TCU robbed of a touchdown, or did Carter pull off a fakeout that was only executed for a brief moment? Let us know in the comments.


Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday or email us. And be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.