One of the more influential plays of Wednesday night's World Series opener started with a seemingly innocuous ground ball to second base. With Dustin Pedroia tearing towards second base, Cardinals' second baseman Matt Carpenter delivered a throw to shortstop Pete Kozma. The feed glanced off Kozma's glove, but umpire Dana DeMuth ruled that Kozma's drop came during the transfer from glove to hand, a ruling that would have resulted in an out and held the Red Sox to one run in the first instead of three.
Fortunately for Boston, the umps got together to review the call, eventually overturning it.
The panel on CSNNE's Playoff Central postgame show discuss the umps getting the call right for that pivotal play in Game 1.
- Sports & Recreation
- Pete Kozma
- Dustin Pedroia