Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

From the Marbles

Your handy guide to NASCAR crew chief turnover

From The Marbles

View photo

Tony Stewart crew chief Darian Grubb: Win on Sunday, fired on Monday?


It's the offseason, and that means drivers and crew chiefs are breaking up faster than high school seniors headed off to college. ("It's not you, it's me ... ") We're barely a week past the year's last race, and we're fast headed toward double-digits in crew chief turnover. Here, a handy (and, likely, oft-updated) guide to the ever-shifting crew chief picture in NASCAR:

Tony Stewart (Stewart-Haas Racing)
Out with the old: Darian Grubb, who led Stewart to a Sprint Cup championship, got his walking papers a few weeks early, and even winning the Cup didn't get him a stay of execution.

In with the new: Steve Addington hops to the No. 14 after spending time atop the No. 22 pit box, where he led Kurt Busch to four Sprint Cup wins.

Kevin Harvick (Richard Childress Racing)
Out with the old: Gil Martin has been kicked upstairs, being named director of team operations for RCR after Harvick asked for a change atop the box.

In with the new: Shane Wilson, who previously crewed the now-nonexistent No. 33 team for Clint Bowyer.

Juan Pablo Montoya (Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing)
Out with the old: Interim crew chief Jim Pohlman will remain with EGR in some as-yet-undetermined capacity.

In with the new: Chris Heroy, who worked for Hendrick Motorsports in various capacities, joins the EGR team. He crewed for both Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. in various Nationwide races in 2011.

Jeff Burton (Richard Childress Racing)
Out with the old: Luke Lambert, interim crew chief for the No. 31 team, will be reassigned within RCR.

In with the new: Drew Blickensderfer jumps to RCR after years at Roush Fenway, where he most recently crewed David Ragan's now-nonexistent No. 6 team in 2011.

Kurt Busch (Penske Racing)
Out with the old: Addington, as noted above, quit Kurt Busch's team. After years crewing both Busches, he deserves hazard pay.

In with the new: No replacement named as yet.

Clint Bowyer (Michael Waltrip Racing)
Out with the old: When Bowyer left RCR, he also left behind crew chief Shane Wilson, who, as noted above, found work with Kevin Harvick.

In with the new: No word as yet, though former Juan Pablo Montoya crew chief Brian Pattie has been widely mentioned as a possible hire.

Danica Patrick (Stewart-Haas Racing)
Out with the old: N/A, since Patrick hasn't yet had a crew chief in the Sprint Cup series. Chances are, her Nationwide crew chief Tony Eury Jr. won't be joining her from JR Motorsports.

In with the new: Yet to be determined. Darian Grubb has been mentioned as a possible crew chief, but would he want to remain with SHR after the way he's been treated?

Mark Martin (Michael Waltrip Racing)
Out with the old: Like Bowyer, he's leaving his old post for a job with MWR, and likely won't be bringing his current chief, Lance McGrew, with him. McGrew will likely remain at Hendrick in another capacity.

In with the new: Rodney Childers, crew chief of the now-nonexistent #00/David Reutimann team at MWR, is now out of work, as is Ryan Pemberton, crew chief of the now-gone #83/Brian Vickers team at Red Bull.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $350K Baller [$50K to 1st] 12225/39773 $10 $350000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $40K Tournament [Single Entry] 2193/9091 $5 $40000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NBA $20K Tournament [$2K to 1st] 1893/4545 $5 $20000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)