From The Marbles

  • ESM Racing gets Honda first overall win in Rolex 24

    Nick Bromberg at From The Marbles5 days ago

    Add Honda to the list of manufacturers who have won an overall title at the Rolex 24.

    The Honda HPD Ligier JS for Tequila Patron Extreme Speed Motorsports driven by Pipo Derani was the class of the Protoype field as the 24-hour endurance race stretched into Sunday morning and cruised to victory over the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette which was piloted by Max Angelleli at the end.

    It's the first Rolex 24 win for ESM Racing, owned by Ed Brown and former IndyCar driver Scott Sharp. Both Brown and Sharp drove the car along with Derani and Johannes van Overbeek.

    While Derani was 15+ seconds ahead of the rest of the Prototypes at the end of the race, the finishes in the GT Le Mans and GT Daytona categories were fantastic. The GTLM finish came down to the two Corvette CR7s and Oliver Gavin beat Antonio Garcia by less than a car length.


    Read More