From The Marbles

  • Eligibility rules changed for 2015 Sprint Unlimited

    Nick Bromberg at From The Marbles5 days ago

    Pardon us if you've heard this one before: The eligibility criteria for the Sprint Unlimited is changing.

    Here's how the field will be composed for the Feb. 14, 2015 race:

    • All drivers who made the 2014 Chase are in. There's 16.

    • All drivers who won a pole in 2014 who weren't in the Chase. That gives us seven more drivers.

    • All drivers who competed full-time in 2014 who have previously won a Daytona 500 pole. This fills the field out to 25 with the addition of Danica Patrick and Martin Truex, Jr.

    However, Brian Vickers, a 2014 pole winner,is expected to miss the race because of complications from a 2010 heart procedure. The NASCAR release says a " minimum of 25 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers are eligible to participate in the Sprint Unlimited at DIS" and that "a ny remaining spots will be filled by drivers highest in 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver championship points who are not already eligible."

    Read More