WATCH LIVE:

Cagewriter

At UFC 142, Erick Silva disqualified for illegal blows

Maggie Hendricks
Cagewriter

View photo

.

Erick Silva tries to understand what went wrong. (Zuffa)

Erick Silva got his first UFC win in just 40 seconds. It looked like he had another quick win, but controversy erupted as soon as the 29-second bout was over.

From the opening touch of the gloves, Silva threw a knee, which caused Prater to fall to his knees. Silva followed up with several hits to the side of Prater's head. The bout was stopped by referee Mario Yamasaki, and it seemed like Silva was on the way to his second straight win.

But the official decision took longer than normal to announced, and Yamasaki explained to Silva that he was disqualified because Yamasaki said the blows were to the back of Prater's head.

UFC commentator Joe Rogan disagreed with the call, saying that the punches hit the side of Prater's head. Yamasaki said that he needed to make the call in the moment, and he saw the blows hit the back of Prater's head. MMA referees do not have instant replay.

Silva took the disappointment well.

"I have great respect for the referee," Silva told Rogan. "I don't think they were hitting the back of the head."

The bout will go down as a loss on Silva's record.

Other popular content on the Y! network:
Serena Williams hasn't been on a date in 'forever'
Video: 49ers force five turnovers after feeling disrespected
Y! Health: Daily habits that will lead to weight loss

View Comments (50)