Big League Stew

Wrong call hurts Yankees in the second inning

Kevin Kaduk
Big League Stew

(TBS screenshot via @kevin_krebs)

Game 1 of the ALCS got off to a slow start with the New York Yankees and Detroit Tigers scoreless after five innings. The Yankees would have had at least one run, though, if first base umpire Rob Drake had made the right call at the end of the second inning.

The situation: With the bases loaded and two outs, Robinson Cano hit a chopper to Jhonny Peralta, who made an impressive barehand grab of the ball and fired over first. It was a bang-bang play and Drake called Cano out, though the freeze frame above show that was not the correct call. Had Cano been ruled safe, a run would have scored and the inning would have continued against Detroit starter Doug Fister, who struggled the first two innings but then retired nine straight Yankee batters after this play.

[Related: Yankees try to disguise empty seats at ALCS by moving fans]

There probably aren't too many non-Yankee fans crying over the fact that something didn't go the Yankees way in the postseason. But there's no denying the wrong call was made here.

Big BLS H/N: SB Nation

Make sure all your bases are covered this postseason ...
Follow @bigleaguestew@KevinKaduk and the BLS Facebook page!

Related MLB video from Yahoo! Sports:


Other popular content on the Yahoo! network:
Slideshow: Derek Jeter breaks ankle in Yankees' loss to Tigers
Alabama returner gets flipped into a somersault by Missouri punter
Michael Vick confirms dog is now part of his family
Y! News: Dog saves pals stranded in canoe

View Comments