Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Big League Stew

Silver Slugger winners announced, including first-timers Paul Goldschmidt and Chris Davis

Mike Oz
Big League Stew

View photo


(Getty Images)

Baseball award season rolls on, and Wednesday the Silver Slugger awards were handed out to the top hitters at each position in both leagues.

Some of the names we've seen win this award in the past were there again. Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano, Joe Mauer, Mike Trout, Jay Bruce and David Ortiz, for example. But there were nine first-time winners this year, six of them coming from the National League side. That includes Paul Goldschmidt, Matt Carpenter, Pedro Alvarez and pitcher Zack Greinke.

Interestingly, all the first-timers on the AL side came from the Baltimore Orioles — Chris Davis, Adam Jones and J.J. Hardy. Here's the full list of winners:

C: Joe Mauer, MIN (.324, 11 HRs, 47 RBIs)
1B: Chris Davis, BAL (.286, 53 HRs, 138 RBIs)*
2B: Robinson Cano, NYY (.314, 27 HRs, 107 RBIs)
SS: J.J. Hardy, BAL (.263, 25 HRs, 76 RBIs)*
3B: Miguel Cabrera, DET (.348, 44 HRs, 137 RBIs)
OF: Torii Hunter, DET (.304, 17 HRs, 84 RBIs)
OF: Adam Jones, BAL (.285, 33 HRs, 108 RBIs)*
OF: Mike Trout, LAA (.323, 27 HRs, 97 RBIs)
DH: David Ortiz, BOS (.309, 30 HRs, 103 RBIs)

C: Yadier Molina, STL (.319, 12 HRs, 80 RBIs)*
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, ARI (.302, 36 HRs, 125 RBIs)*
2B: Matt Carpenter, STL (.318, 11 HRs, 78 RBIs)*
SS: Ian Desmond, WAS (.280, 20 HRs, 80 RBIs)
3B: Pedro Alvarez, PIT (.233, 36 HRs, 100 RBIs)*
OF: Jay Bruce, CIN (.262, 30 HRs, 109 RBIs)
OF: Michael Cuddyer, COL (.331, 20 HRs, 84 RBIs)*
OF: Andrew McCutchen, PIT (.317, 21 HRs, 84 RBIs)
P: Zack Greinke, LAD (.328, 0 HRs, 4 RBIs)*

* Denotes first-time winner

- - - - - - -

Mike Oz is an editor for Big League Stew on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (27)