Continuing in our tradition of highlighting the rare instances when umpires admit they're wrong and end up getting a call right, here's Brandon Crawford getting the RBI he deserved during Monday's first inning of San Francisco's 7-1 win over San Diego.
Brandon Crawford [...] appeared to end the inning with a flyout to a sliding Mark Kotsay in left field, but after [Giants manager Bruce] Bochy came out to argue the call, the umpires convened to discuss it, eventually overturning the initial ruling and giving Crawford an RBI single.
"It's a tough call," Bochy said. "You're running and trying to make the call. We knew he had short-hopped it, and it's all about getting it right, which they did. They did a great job of getting together and getting it right, which is all you can ask."
The instances where fellow umpires fail to correct a crewmate's incorrect call for fear of showing him up has long been a pet peeve of mine. Kudos to this group for putting a correct call ahead of anyone's ego (and, yes, it was definitely a tough call to make — the type that should definitely be reviewable on instant replay, no matter how much Bud Selig wrongly insists that no one's interested in adopting the technology).
- Sports & Recreation
- Brandon Crawford