Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Big League Stew

Carlos Santana tagged out at first after making Little League running mistake (Video)

Kevin Kaduk
Big League Stew

As a tall lefty, I ended up playing a lot of first base in my short-lived baseball heyday. It was a fun position, providing plenty of opportunities to end an inning by interrupting a ball bound for the dirt or the chain-link fence behind me.

It also allowed a chance to play sports tattletale on the opponents who didn't have a firm grasp on the rules. Yes, the smug satisfaction gained by tagging out a runner who had made the slightest turn toward second after running through first tasted just as good as the postgame Star Crunch.

At any rate, that same situation played out during Tuesday's Indians-Royals game as Kansas City second baseman Chris Getz called Cleveland's Carlos Santana out on the transgression:

It's not every day that you see a Little League mistake like that being made in the major leagues, but it does happen to the best of us. No word on if Santana had to run a few laps around the far end of the concession stand to make up for it.

Want more baseball fun all season long?
Follow @bigleaguestew@KevinKaduk and the BLS Facebook page!

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (9)