Stephanie McMahon Q&A:

Big League Stew

Blown call on Delmon Young line drive costs Rays a run in AL tiebreaker game

Mike Oz
Big League Stew

View photo

.

If this were 2014, a manager's challenge would have followed the final "out" of the top of the seventh inning in Monday night's AL wild card tiebreaker game.

But baseball hasn't put into effect its new instant replay rules yet, which means there's not much recourse when a team gets cheated out of a run like the Tampa Bay Rays did.

This was the situation: Delmon Young was up with two outs and Wil Myers on second base. He was moving on the pitch, so it looked like Young's liner to centerfield would score Myers. Texas Rangers outfielder Leonys Martin dove toward the ball and it short-hopped into his glove. He jumped up like he caught it, and the umps totally bought it. Particularly umpire Bruce Dreckman who called it a catch from left field.

The TV-watching crowd didn't even need a replay. "With six umpires, how was that missed?" said TBS play-by-play announcer Joe Simpson.

Luckily for the Rays, the run wasn't too important to the final score. They were up 4-2 when the blown call occurred, and the Rays scored another run in the ninth inning on a Texas error to make the final score 5-2. Had something gone awry for the Rays though and one run mattered in this do-or-die game, Martin's "catch" would have been another black eye for baseball's umpires.

BLS H/N: @cjzero

The postseason is upon us. Spend it with The Stew.
Follow @MikeOz and @bigleaguestew, on Twitter, along with the BLS Facebook page.

View Comments (49)