Buzzing News from Woj:

Big League Stew

Another day, another goof: Umps allow rule-breaking Astros pitching change

A day after a group of umpires botched a home-run ruling, another group of umpires let the Houston Astros make an obviously illegal pitching change. The opposing Los Angeles Angels played the rest of the game under protest, which doesn't really matter now because the Angels won the game 6-5.

[Also: Orioles flying up the MLB Power Rankings]

What does matter, though: The umpires blatantly went against the rule book and after the game wouldn't comment on it.

Here's the play-by-play: Astros manager Bo Porter called lefty Wesley Wright out of the bullpen to replace Paul Clemens in the seventh inning. The Angels countered by pinch-hitting for their left-handed batter with a right-hander. Wright didn't throw a pitch before Porter came back out and called for a right-handed reliever.

View photo


(USA Today)

What the umps should have said: Sorry, Bo, that's against rule 3.05(B). Can't pull a pitcher who hasn't pitched.

What they did say: Sure, go for it. Angels skipper Mike Scioscia was livid, of course, and filed the protest immediately.

Here's the text of the rule in question:

[Also: Mariano Rivera, 'Metallica' share common bond]

If the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.

After the game, Porter's explanation was, to crib from Dave Chappelle, "I didn't know I couldn't do that." Here's what Porter actually said, via's Brian McTaggart:

“My understanding of the rule, and I was fortunate enough last year to sit in with [Nationals manager] Davey [Johnson] when they changed the rule of a pitcher having to face a batter. But at the same time, if you have to pinch-hit for that batter, you now have the right to bring in another pitcher. Technically, Wesley came in to pitch the batter that was scheduled to hit [Shuck] but he pinch-hit for the batter that was scheduled to hit. Which, from my understanding of the rule, you can bring in another pitcher to face the pinch-hitter.”

The crew chief of the umpiring team, Fieldin Culbreth, didn't have a better explanation either. In fact, he didn't have any explanation.

"The only thing I can tell you is that all matters concerning protests are handled through the league office, and that's all I can tell you," Culbreth said.

That's from Alden Gonzalez's story on, which also notes Culbreth gave essentially the same answer on a follow-up question. Better get that statement ready, Joe Torre.

A "no comment" might fly, if not for an umpire debacle the night before. Now? Well, we'll let Yahoo! Sports' Jeff Passan bring the pain:

[Also: Angels' C.J. Wilson engaged to supermodel]

On the bright side, at least the Angels won the game. Not just because that renders the protest moot, but because it would be really embarrassing for the Angels to get swept by the Astros.

Baseball is back. Don't miss anything.
Follow @MikeOz and @bigleaguestew, on Twitter, along with the BLS Facebook page.

More news from the Yahoo! Sports Minute:

Other popular content on Yahoo! Sports:
Tony Parker makes ridiculous claim
Manti Te'o among first rookies to sign deal
Columbia football player charged with hate crime, hateful tweets revealed
Chris Webber deserves apology from Michigan, NCAA

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
EPL $20K Nobody Loses 2728/10000 $1 $20000 Tomorrow 10:00 AM Enter
NBA $11K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 473/2500 $5 $11000 Thursday 7:00 PM Enter
NBA $8K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 70/364 $25 $8000 Thursday 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (672)