Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Devil Ball Golf

Stacy Lewis thanked the viewer who called in a penalty on her caddie, won event anyway

Talk about an incredible start to the 2013 season for American Stacy Lewis. The 28-year-old won her second LPGA event of the season on Sunday at the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup thanks to a final round 64 that helped her leapfrog Ai Miyazato to snag her sixth LPGA win since April of 2012.

It also pushed her past Yani Tseng as the top ranked golfer in the world, an incredible accomplishment for someone that has taken her game to a completely different level over the last two season, but all of this almost didn't happen.

Why? Because her caddie, Travis Wilson, landed Lewis a two-shot penalty on Saturday after a viewer called into the event letting them know that Wilson had tested a hazard with his shoe. Rule 13-4 states you must not, "Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard," and Wilson did so with his shoe on the 16th hole on Saturday.

The two-shot penalty pushed Lewis four shots behind Miyazato, but that final round 64 allowed her to make up all the ground (and more) and afterwards Lewis thanked the caller for pointing out the rules infraction because, "it gave me some more motivation."

h/t Shackelford

View Comments (57)