If you were going to list players on the PGA Tour that seemed like calm customers, Nick Watney would be near the top of your list, but that wasn't the case Monday at TPC Boston.
Watney started the day near the top of the leaderboard, but found the hazard on the par-5 second hole. After he tried to hack the ball out of the hazard and failed, Watney let his temper get the best of him, taking a smack at a rock with his wedge. That behavior might get you a bad letter from the commissioner and even possibly a fine, but Watney's cost him even more. Why? Because the rock he hit with his wedge was actually in the hazard, meaning he grounded his club, and gained an additional two-stroke penalty. Video is below ...
The rule that Watney broke is 13-4, which states while in a hazard, "the player must not test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard or touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club." When Watney slammed his club into the rock within the hazard boundary, he broke that rule, thus landing him the two-shot penalty.
The two-time winner this season made an 11 on the par-5 on his way to a final-round 80, dropping 49 spots on the leaderboard and costing him major playoff points.
Other popular stories on Yahoo! Sports:
• The 10 best and worst fashions from the 2011 U.S Open
• Eagles' T.O.: Jackson should sit until he gets a raise
• Video: Fan makes generous gesture at Nationals game
- Nick Watney