That doesn't mean Ochoa has to blow dust off her irons when she wants to swing 'em around. When the money comes calling, Lorena pulls them out, and this weekend in Haikou, China, she took part in an event called the Star Trophy at Mission Hills, pitting men and women alike on the same golf course, competing for the same trophy.
It was the third big mistake of the weekend at the Blackstone Course. In the first round of the event, Nick Faldo was disqualified because he picked up his ball on the eighth green not realizing there was a professional competition going on. Just after him, Ryuji Imada had to give himself 26 penalty shots for not following the scorecard-length, lift-and-clean policy that the European and Asian Tours observe (as opposed to a club length on the PGA Tour).
So what did Monty do? He had his caddie move a sponsor sign out of his line on the 16th hole, not realizing that local rules forbid that. Monty was handed two shots for the penalty, and lost by two shots to Ochoa.
Should we expect to see Ochoa back on the LPGA after a win like this, which awarded her $1.28 million? Nope, she said she's going back to Mexico "really happy."