Tiger Woods — Getty ImagesTiger Woods has been served with a two-shot penalty for a violation that occurred on Friday's 15th hole. He will tee off at 1:45 p.m. Saturday and is now five strokes behind leader Jason Day.
Woods faced disqualification stemming from a possible rules violation committed on Friday afternoon. After he struck one of the unluckiest shots in his Masters career, an approach on 15 that hit the flagstick and bounced back into the water, Woods dropped a new ball and began playing again. However, it's how he dropped that new ball that's at issue.
The rules of golf stipulate that a player may drop a ball in a designated drop zone, drop in the original spot from which the ball was hit, or drop in a spot that's in a direct line from the flag to the place where the ball last hit the water. Woods appeared to combine options 2 and 3. (For a fuller explanation of the rules at issue, see here.)
However, there was enough wiggle room inRead More »from Tiger Woods hit with two-shot penalty but no disqualification from Masters